Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To not want to put off training for yet another year.

(18 Posts)
JosephineBucket Mon 30-Oct-17 17:04:38

I graduated from university 20 years ago and was going to do a PGCE but had to put it off as I was unable to continue to live at home. I've always meant to go back to do it but there's always been something that's stopped me and in the meantime I've had 3 children.

Hitting 40, having a late baby and losing my stepmum have all made me realise that I've got to get my bum in gear and get serious about seeing this through. I've found all the information I need, contacted schools and colleges and looked into childcare. I would train in a shortage subject so qualify for a 15k bursary and although DH isn't on the greatest salary he is extremely supportive of me no longer being a SAHM.

The only thing that would stop me would be childcare. Nursery would be £1000 a month and need to be paid in advance. The bursary would reduce tax credits and the top up housing benefit we receive and we will struggle financially. DD will be 3 by September 2019 when we'd get 15 free hours per week and pay a lower daily rate so it would make much more sense to wait til then but I fear if I put it off yet again I will never do it. I just don't know what to do.

LindyHemming Mon 30-Oct-17 17:16:43

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

blueberrypi27 Mon 30-Oct-17 17:22:49

I wouldn't attempt the PGCE with young children although I know some people do manage.

Allthewaves Mon 30-Oct-17 17:23:08

Have u checked entitled to so you know how much tax credits u will get for childcare

JosephineBucket Mon 30-Oct-17 17:31:31

I'm having difficulty finding a childminder that will do termtime only and it's difficult to see if paying a retainer during holidays will actually work out better. I feel a bit thick as I've never paid for childcare (I have worked but DH and I have always done it between us.)