Talk

Advanced search

Finding it hard to house share...please help!

(8 Posts)
youknowhatsup Sun 29-Oct-17 10:19:51

Hello all,

I am currently a mature student and need some help to try and have a happy house share as I am struggling a little bit.

Last year I lived with some masters students and we were all pretty clean, and we did our bit with a cleaning rota as well. There were some things that annoyed me, but day to day, despite being strangers we all got on really well.

This year I am finding it a lot more difficult. It is a bigger house but with less people so I thought I'd find it a lot easier! I get on really well with one housemate. However on the top floor it is me and this one girl who is a lot younger than me, and is also on the same course as me, so I am finding it difficult to escape!

We are all washing our dishes and stuff, but I do feel that I end up putting a lot more effort in to wipe down surfaces when I am done, or to put people's stuff away on the drying rack. That's pretty minor. However I'm the only one who has hoovered the house or cleaned the bathroom when it's getting a build up of hair and dust. (I don't think I've done it particularly often or anything either - every two to three weeks!?) I guess I need to be really friendly and implement some sort of cleaning rota, like we had at our old house?

This one girl also has her boyfriend staying every weekend, and they hog the bathroom (she takes forever in the bathroom anyway) so I have just put my toiletries in my room so I can brush my teeth in the kitchen. They usually go in and out of doors and slam them so it wakes me up. Damn paper thin walls anyway!