Talk

Advanced search

To consider leaving a city I love for a great job?

(19 Posts)
Namila Sat 21-Oct-17 22:29:13

Hi all!

Although I am originally not from the UK, I have been working in London for the last 3 years. I love London! It is such a vibrant and exciting city.

I am lucky enough to have a job I like in a great company. The salary is fine for London, but not amazing (in the region of £40k). I am 28, single, no DC. I rent a place with a friend and can generally enjoy life without thinking too much about money.

Here's the thing: I have been offered an internal transfer to a different team in our Zurich office. The job I have been offered would be amazing, a lot more interesting than my current one. The team I would be joining works on really great projects. Also, the salary would be more than double my current salary.

I am on the fence about this. I have been to Zurich a couple of times and I found it nice enough, but I have never thought to actually live there. I love big cities so I am concerned I would find it a bit claustrophobic. I also love my life in London as it is now!

On the other hand, that is one great job and a hell of a lot of money.

Technically nothing keeps me in London, as I have no family/ DP here, just a few good friends. On that salary I could save a lot more money and perhaps buy a place by myself in a few years. I'd also have a better standard of living (yes I am aware that Zurich is more expensive than London, but I'd bring home more than double the money. I think I would still be better off all things considered!). I'd be able to rent a place alone and finally live by myself!

So what do you think? Should I leave a city I love for somewhere I might like less for a great job? Do you think it would be worth it?

Thank you for your kind replies smile

NancyDonahue Sat 21-Oct-17 22:35:24

Go for it. What's that saying.. 'You don't regret the things you do, only the things you don't do'.. something like that!