Talk

Advanced search

To send ds to a holiday club when I don't need to?

(37 Posts)
snowglobe67 Sat 21-Oct-17 10:55:48

Hi! Appreciate your advice on this as I'm feeling guilty and considering cancelling.

Ds is 5 and started school this time. I am a teacher so we have half term off together. His dad will look after him wed/third as I'm on a spa break for my birthday.

Despite not needing to I have booked him onto his school's holiday club for Monday so I can get bits done at school like planning, assessment and displays which in turn will mean that wed/thurs are all mine to relax in.

Ds is happy to go and hasn't seemed to find school tiring or stressful but his toileting has been dreadful at school which could be a sign of stress.

The school are still advertising that they have places so I'm not taking up a place from somebody who needs it.

But, I've begun to think that I'm being selfish in effectively taking 3 days for myself instead of spending quality time with ds.

What do you think? Would you do this, or cancel and have a nice day together?

Caulk Sat 21-Oct-17 10:59:10

Send him. He’ll enjoy being with his friends. My experience is that reception sometimes struggle to return after Oct half term so this may help him - the week off won’t feel quite a long.

I’m guessing it’ll be a shorter day so you can still do things together afterwards.

gandalfspants Sat 21-Oct-17 11:03:54

Send him.

I’m a PGCE student and DD will still be going to nursery this week so I can get my assignment and planning (which takes ages with me being new to it) done.

You’ll still get a couple of days to do lovely things together.

nogooddeedgoesunpunished Sat 21-Oct-17 11:09:42

You should absolutely send him. You need a break and you won't get one if you spend your only child free days catching up on work. He'll have fun and you'll be better rested for it. Parental guilt is a shocker but what you are planning to do makes good sense from where I'm standing .