Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to think using oven on a timer for stews a few times a week may be cheaper than buying a slow cooker?

(23 Posts)
Tigertoes Thu 19-Oct-17 16:12:57

Apparently we "must get a slow cooker", says DSis. For stews and things. But my oven has a timer and I bung stuff in there to do it's thing a couple of times a week. Why do I want a slow cooker? Isn't it just another "thing"?

PinkSnowAndStars Thu 19-Oct-17 16:14:32

I love my slow cooker. I chuck stuff in for a casserole, or a gammon joint and it’s ready at dinner time.

Best invention ever.

GraciesMansion Thu 19-Oct-17 16:15:19

Slow cookers use far less energy than your oven, like running a lightbulb if I remember correctly?

amusedbush Thu 19-Oct-17 16:15:49

I hate my slow cooker. I make pulled pork in it and that's it.

I've tried every casserole/stew recipe out there, I've adjusted the water levels and still it turns out watery, tasteless slop. I'm a decent cook with a normal cooker so it's not just me! grin

WindyWednesday Thu 19-Oct-17 16:17:28

I think it works with meat. But being veggie it's never worked for me. The oven on low is as good.

Goldfishshoals Thu 19-Oct-17 16:18:11

Slow cooker uses much less energy than an oven. If you are doing slow cooker type recipes twice a week then the slow cooker is definately cheaper, but yes, will take up more space in the kitchen.

I very rarely do slow cooker type meals so am happy to use the oven, but it's obviously not as efficient.

Tigertoes Thu 19-Oct-17 16:18:42

But how many times would I have to use it to make buying it worth It? Why can't I just stew things bungee in my normal oven? Environmentally which is likely to be less imlactfil?

Blankscreen Thu 19-Oct-17 16:19:01

I'm like pp the only thing that turns out ok is pulled pork the rest is just tasteless and horrible.

I've actually just broken mine and I'll not rushing to replace it.

FreeMeNow Thu 19-Oct-17 16:19:11