Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To think that nobody here has a higher car insurance premium than I do?

(64 Posts)
QueuetoaskaQ Fri 13-Oct-17 10:46:06

£2600!

Who can beat that?

No cheating by telling me about your young son's or daughters's policies.

I'm early 30s.
Drive a 1.3l Ford Ka.
Have no claims or convictions

Buuuut

I'm a relatively new driver with 0 NCD years.
I have no other drivers on my policy that might lower the risk/premium.
I live in a diabolical post code - high crime, high car thefts, high vandalism
My car is parked on a main road

I'm going to be moving soon to a gorgeous, quiet, low crime area for a new job and cannot wait to see the effect a change of postcode will have on my premium.

That, combined with my upcoming 1 year NCD, will hopefully bring it down by at least a grand, right?

The current insurance is 4 times more expensive than the car was!

I'm going to try getting a new quote based on some potential homes spotted on Rightmove and see the result. My renewal is only 4 months away - can't come quick enough!

Mandraki Fri 13-Oct-17 12:01:46

That is high! My first year of driving when I was 17/18 in 2008 was £1100 for a 1999 Corsa, I thought that was pretty bad. Hopefully it will come down when you move. Ours went down when we moved from a flat at the top of our road to a house at the bottom. It can be to do with the car as well. We’ve just swapped from a C1 with a tiny engine to a new Yaris with a bigger engine and our insurance came down. It’s all to do with who they assume drives that type of car and what kind of driving they’ll be doing.

aaaaargghhhhelpme Fri 13-Oct-17 12:05:30

Blimey. I'm sorry!

I'm a relatively new driver. First year of insurance was £800 and I thought that was bad.