Talk

Advanced search

To use the AS 'I'm not naughty' badge on toddler

(8 Posts)
Mamabear4180 Wed 11-Oct-17 15:54:09

My 2.9 year old has ASD and can have meltdowns if overloaded or confused etc.

Today I overheard a toddler group leader call my DD naughty in a conversation (with someone else) due to a meltdown which ironically she unwittingly caused. It was a flippant comment and I'm sure she didn't mean it harshly (she's a bit old school) but it did bother me. I put her straight and let her know that she has autism and she was clearly mortified and then proceeded to tell me how well she copes in group considering.

I have badges from the autistic society that state "I'm not naughty, I'm autistic' which I shoved in the drawer because I'm not sure how I feel about them. I don't know whether to put them on her? I'm new to all this and feel a bit overwhelmed.

Lottapianos Wed 11-Oct-17 15:56:47

Well the group leader shouldn't be referring to any child as 'naughty' so well done for confronting her on that

I work with children who has ASD and I think those badges are a good idea. Many parents report getting shares or very unhelpful comments if their child becomes distressed in public. A badge or a t-shirt explaining the situation might teach people to think before opening their mouths

missadasmith Wed 11-Oct-17 15:56:52

I never used them for my child (autism). I kind of felt very uncomfortable announcing my child's DX to the world in that way.

I grew a thick skin re comments but if ever something got to me (like the situation you describe, OP), then I would go to the person and tell them that DC had SN.

Awwlookatmybabyspider Wed 11-Oct-17 16:07:35

Oh I think she needs Educating a lot more. She clearly has no or ridiculously little no knowledge on your dds condition. Plus if she knew anything at all about children's development she'd also know that two year olds throwing tantrums is perfectly normal, even if they don't have under laying issues.