Talk

Advanced search

Good jobs for introverts

(65 Posts)
Pariswhenitdrizzles Thu 21-Sep-17 13:52:01

Any ideas? (Posting for traffic blush)

harlandgoddard Thu 21-Sep-17 13:55:27

Fellow introvert here, I haven't got the answer unfortunately just following.

So far all I've come up with is any job that allows you to work from home as much as possible.

vivaVasLagas Thu 21-Sep-17 13:58:35

Coder.

A good bet as far as career growth goes. Self taught or online courses. Rarely have to talk to anyone.

PollyFlint Thu 21-Sep-17 14:02:16

"Introvert" is way too broad a classification.

For example, you can a shy/quiet introvert or a loud/confident introvert. Some introverts are creative and ideas-driven, others are meticulous and process-driven. Some introverts like routine, some like no two days to be the same. Some like to set their own agenda and others like to be led. Some like to be active, some like to be sedentary. Some are highly academic with a billion qualifications, some don't have a single qualification to their name and would prefer to work with their hands.

I work in a PR and comms team for a large organisation, which people assume must be a really extroverted profession. But no, about three-quarters of our team are actually introverts. Doesn't stop us doing our jobs. My DP was a newspaper reporter on a daily paper for years and now manages a PR team - and he's an introvert too.

Don't think about it in terms of introvert/extrovert, basically. Think about it in terms of you and what you want overall (or whoever you're asking for).

Redadmiralflyer Thu 21-Sep-17 21:21:18

Cleaner. Get to work on your own tasks without much interaction from people

Dog walker or pet service business. Grooming etc

Delivery driver. Just drop off and pick up what you need to with only a bit of small talk in between

Sienna333 Thu 21-Sep-17 21:22:57

1. A nanny
2. Working in a library

NapQueen Thu 21-Sep-17 21:23:45