Talk

Advanced search

To want to hear your stories from customer facing jobs?

(206 Posts)
TillyMint81 Mon 14-Aug-17 23:44:52

I work in retail. Customers are for the most part lovely but there are some absolute idiots out there.
Like the one who brought back a pack of bacon because it said four slices and it had five. Or the one who complained about the oranges on Bogof because she only wanted one pack not two. and, oh, by the way, could she have the free one?
We also had a bloke who would walk round looking for low stock on the buy one get one free lines. If he found one that was down to one item he would ask if we had any in stock. If we did he would walk away but if we didn't he wanted that one for free..

ZaphodBeeblerox Mon 14-Aug-17 23:51:33

You sound v much like a journalist doing some very lazy lifestyle reporting. Not sure what the point is of being outraged that some people behave atrociously some of the time - hardly worth getting het up over! hmm

TillyMint81 Mon 14-Aug-17 23:55:32

Most definitely not a journalist. I've just been reading back through some classics thread and the one from teachers was brilliant. I just wanted to see what other people in a similar line of work had experienced. Feel free to pass on by.

BlurryFace Tue 15-Aug-17 00:19:03

One shop with very can't be arsed customer service people had a bloke who would by a case of wine, then bring back the empty bottles, claiming that they had been corked and he'd had to pour it all away. He'd get the refund, buy another six bottles, rinse and repeat. Someone cottoned on eventually and put a stop to it, I blame the managers who would always get arsey if summoned from their nice warm offices over whatever so supervisors/assistants would just go with the option less likely to get then an earful.

It's also a bit mad how many customers will blatantly try to walk out the shop with say a trolley full of vodka without even trying to make it look like they'd gone through checkout.