Talk

Advanced search

AIBU -walking poles for a long hike or not?

(12 Posts)
milkyman Thu 22-Jun-17 14:45:10

I am doing a 22 mile hike with hills in a couple of weeks. Is it worth getting poles if you've never used them. Also what should I wear? It's July, South of England and not sure.

kittykarate Thu 22-Jun-17 14:48:47

I would, but then I love an excuse to walk with my walking poles as I can walk faster on the flat and feel safer going down hills.

Hereward1332 Thu 22-Jun-17 14:53:52

You'll look like a tool, but they do help. Especially uphill.

NannyR Thu 22-Jun-17 15:06:23

I've never used poles before, but I got some recently for a multi day hike with a heavy backpack. They were a godsend; they meant that my arms could do some of the work going uphill, I felt more stable going downhill and I could really power along on the flat.
I bought leki branded poles with suspension in them, although never having used poles without suspension, I couldn't really compare whether bounce or no bounce is better.

Someone on the hike showed me how to use them properly but I would guess there is a you tube video somewhere that would show you. The knack is to position them slightly behind you and push against them (much easier to understand if you see it in action).

Piffpaffpoff Thu 22-Jun-17 15:08:31

They are good on hills, especially if you get sore knees.

Witchitywoo Thu 22-Jun-17 15:20:45

They can take up to 25% of your body weight when used correctly so they can tone up your bingo wings beautifully. I did 100km trek using them and came back with lovely toned arms!

GreenFingersWouldBeHandy Thu 22-Jun-17 15:26:47

Yes! And I don't feel like a tool using one. Especially good when going down steep slopes with gravel/loose stones.

kittykarate Thu 22-Jun-17 15:27:15