Talk

Advanced search

To think DH should let me drive for once?

(139 Posts)
Diam0nd7 Wed 31-May-17 18:10:19

Will your DH ever let you drive a car if he is a passenger in it? Even though DH currently has his hand in a hard plastic support due to two broken fingers (so I have been offering to drive recently), he still refuses to be a passenger if I'm driving. I've realised today this has been going on as long as I've known him, but I never really thought about it until now. I've been driving for about 20 years, but I don't think I've ever had him as a passenger. I drive the kids all over London every day and am hardly a nervous driver. I have also had less scrapes than him over the years. AIBU to think this he is BU about this?

TheLuminaries Wed 31-May-17 18:14:12

That is odd. My DH & I share the driving if we are out as a family. He usually drives a bit more than me, as I have a longer drive for my commute so like a break, so it is maybe 60/40. Why do you think your DH doesn't want to be driven by you?

LedaP Wed 31-May-17 18:16:44

Dh isnt keen on being a passenger at all. But doesnt refuse to get in if i am driving.

He had a bad accident whe he was a passenger and the other car hit on his side.

I dont mind as i am not bothered about driving and, as i said, he doesnt refuse to let me drive.

LockedOutOfMN Wed 31-May-17 18:18:49

An ex's dad cut his fingers badly with a hedge trimmer one Sunday when we were round there for lunch. He drive his wife, my ex and me to the hospital (a couple of miles away) to get it looked at. I was young and it was a new relationship and I was rather scared of him (the dad not the ex) so I didn't speak out about it. I would do now, though!

Unicorn81 Wed 31-May-17 18:20:24

I always drive now as im a nervous passenger and need to take control

MiddlingMum Wed 31-May-17 18:20:51

For short journeys it tends to be DH who drives but I drive more solo than he does. For longer journeys we take it in turns.