Talk

Advanced search

Owed money - self employed

(24 Posts)
lipstickedgoddess Fri 19-May-17 14:10:30

Posting for traffic!

Long story short I'm a freelancer. I spoke to my main client at the end of the financial year asking if I would need a new purchase order number for the new financial year.

I was assured not and to put in my invoices with the allocated po number given

I've, since then, put in 20 invoices with 30 day terms for works carried out.

About two weeks ago my contact apologised and asked me to reissue all my invoices with a new po number because of the new financial year.

I have done so but have left the original dates on the invoices because they were put in in good faith at this time.

I've been told they're all signed off and processed but I've not had any indication I'm going to be paid.

I've since paid my national insurance bill, my tax bill, bought dc a new car seat, paid off a number of invoices etc all because I was under the assumption that I would have received remittance by now.

I am now nearly 2 months without any payment and at least 6 of the invoices are beyond my normal "terms".

AIBU to think that they should have stuck to the original payment terms even though I was misinformed about the PO.

I've emailed finance asking about timescales but am not hopeful I'll get a response today.

Any ideas of what else I can do? They will definitely pay though, no concerns with that. It's just when?

MrsLupo Fri 19-May-17 14:59:13

How old is your DC? I'd be tempted to turn up in person at the premises of the client and park yourself in reception until the accounts department sort this out for you. You could have a little picnic - preferably with a few juice spillages - change a nappy or two, let your DC run around exploring a bit....