Talk

Advanced search

To look into being a child minder?

(3 Posts)
ALittleBiPolarSunshine Fri 19-May-17 12:10:07

I am a registered nurse who doesn't particularly like going to work. Not that I don't like the job, I just like being free to do my own thing (don't we all!). I'm lucky in that DH earns a good wage so I gave up my full time job and decided to work on th bank instead - this means I can work as much or as little as I want and choose when I work rather than having it dictated to me. I currently do 4 shifts a week.

I've been trying to think of jobs I could do from home which would earn me a similar income. Last night I had the epiphany of child minder! Both my kids are 16+ now I do miss the "little kid stuff". I can't have anymore kids so after a bottle of wine, this seemed like the perfect solution! I could look after someone else's child, do all the kiddy stuff I'm missing whilst getting paid for it! Plus, as a nurse I already have first aid/medical knowledge for those times when things don't go to plan.

AIBU or unrealistic? What's the implications? Do I need a qualification? Is the pay really shit? I'm currently on £12.50 an hour

drinkingtea Fri 19-May-17 12:30:04

I used to childminder and loved it. You look after 3 kids at a time, so if you're fully booked you'd earn more than as a nurse (I had better take home as a child minder than as a teacher on a 60% timetable, but that was taking account of paying for my own DD's childcare as a teacher - I could only mind two plus my own preschool child).

There is a lot of paperwork and some start up costs, and of course you are answerable to parents - choose ones who are a good fit and share your parenting ethos or you'll clash heads.

I could choose families I thought would be a good fit as an ex teacher in a high demand area - Im sure you'll find being a nurse also makes you in demand, though areas can differ in demand and supply of childminders.