Talk

Advanced search

illness and nursery

(36 Posts)
user1490465531 Sat 13-May-17 09:42:06

just a quick rant really but wanted to ask others opinion.
I work in a nursery and whilst I don't mind the job I'm finding that every weekend I'm ill as I'm picking up colds/virus from the children as most of them still seem to come in sick or come back to nursery before they have fully recovered.
I worked in a school before and never had this issue but it's beginning to annoy me how every weekend is ruined as I'm feeling like crap.
so aibu and just have to accept this is part of the job? I do take vitamin supplements to boost my immune system but it's not doing much to help.
just wondered if other nursey workers have this issue.
parents don't even want to pick up there children when they are ill or will dose them up on medicene when they are ill and still send them in which doesn't help the problem.

AgentOprah Sat 13-May-17 09:45:47

Have you not been working there very long? Often you get I'll at the start of a new job and then your immune system adapts.

user1490465531 Sat 13-May-17 09:47:46

I've been there well over a year so really thought my immune system would of adapted but it's not.

SaorAlbaGuBrath Sat 13-May-17 09:48:55

To be fair it irritates me as a parent when people send their kids in clearly unwell (more than just a cold) because it doesn't suit them.

NannyR Sat 13-May-17 09:51:38

Wiping snotty noses is an occupational hazard of working with toddlers. I can understand your frustration but quite often children can take weeks to get over a cold and it would be unreasonable to expect parents to keep them off until they are 100% well. Your immune system will adapt in time.

DisneyMillie Sat 13-May-17 09:52:52