Talk

Advanced search

To ask you not to buy fidget spinners or any other shit and let your DCs take them to school?

(348 Posts)

MNHQ have commented on this thread.

StrongerThanIThought76 Thu 11-May-17 16:00:09

I'm a teacher. The current fad for Things To Piss The Teacher Off In Class is fidget spinners.

Before anyone jumps on me I recognise and accept that for some SEN kids they are a godsend. I know that. I really really do.

But there are so many kids that are now telling anyone in their vicinity that they are to help them focus etc etc.

NO THEY FUCKING DON'T!

They're a distraction not only to the kid in question, to the kids around you and to the poor sod at the front of the room trying to teach.

If your kid has SEN speak to the SENCO at school who will advise you if your kid would be allowed to have one. Even then (as it is in my school) they should only be used when appropriate.

If your kid is 'normal' then please don't send the damn TOYS into school. The only thing most kids should have in their hand during lessons is a pen or pencil!

And don't call in demanding that your kid gets their TOY back immediately - they've had it confiscated because they're pissing about in class. We wouldn't be happy with them playing with an Action Man or remote control car in class, and neither would you be.

Rant over. We have a hard enough time as it is in schools, keep the extra distraction out of the classroom please?

Thankyou

FanaticalFox Thu 11-May-17 16:00:52

Totally agree!

Gowgirl Thu 11-May-17 16:01:27

I'm just glad the bottle flip is finally dead....

Dianneabbottsmathsteacher Thu 11-May-17 16:01:40

Sounds fair enough to me op here have a wine and relax

LouHotel Thu 11-May-17 16:02:54

100% its a fad with a clever marketing team.

MagnumAddict Thu 11-May-17 16:03:04

Completely agree although your use of 'normal' got my shackles up.

originalbiglymavis Thu 11-May-17 16:03:51

So irritating when a child has it, but weirdly pleasureable to fiddle with.