Talk

Advanced search

Parking Eye

(19 Posts)
Littlepleasures Thu 11-May-17 15:26:47

Anyone else been caught out? Went to my local out of town shopping centre last week. Went for a swim first then met a friend for lunch. After that I went round the shops, bought a few things. Apparently I was there for 4 hours 51 minutes and the time limit is 4 hours. They've charged me £80!! Here's the thing, I've been using this car park for 30 years and had no idea there was a time limit. There might be signs up like they say but I haven't registered it. I can see the point if it's one shop or inner city but there are over 30 shops, a library, leisure centre. No reason for anyone to park there unless they are using the facilities so who are they trying to dissuade by having a time limit? Have sent in an appeal but DH thinks I haven't got a leg to stand on. To cap it all, the email address they give for appeals is invalid so am out the cost of a stamp and an envelope as well!

UrethaFranklin Thu 11-May-17 15:30:25

I think they are trying to dissuade the people who work in those establishments from parking there all day and taking up spaces that customers could use.

If the signs are there and are clearly visible then I don't think you have a leg to stand on either, you will have to suck it up and pay.

SorrelSoup Thu 11-May-17 15:34:32

Advice: keep all tickets if you park in one of their car parks! I got a fine last month. The letter told me I had parked for an hour. Yes! And bought a bloody ticket too! Luckily I know they're a bunch of cuts so I'd kept it. They emailed a week later saying they'd cancelled it. It was really stressful though. I do think understand how a fine was generated for me.

user1463172942 Thu 11-May-17 18:39:06

Sorrel soup me too but u didn't keep the tickets. They have given me 3 tickets saying I went over the time. I'm sure I didn't but have no proof ☹️

BollardDodger Thu 11-May-17 18:43:28