Talk

Advanced search

Vegan and vegetarian

(87 Posts)
MeowMeowMeowOink Mon 24-Apr-17 23:07:16

I am not an expert in either, nor do I believe in either eating habits/way of life/etc etc. (Not to be dismissive but my family for the last 100 years have been butchers!) This is not an attack on choices, more I am interested tell me more. (So I can be less ignorant. Not to change my views)

Just sent little party invites for DCs birthday, we are catering (putting out sarnies) so asked for dietry/allergy info (bloody hell children's parties are hard work, what ever happened to jam sandwiches and party rings..) had two rsvps so far, the first was we are veggie, the second vegan.

It's really got me thinking, where I haven't before now, why is there a difference? More thinking dairy, because male calves are killed in the dairy process, so what's the point in vegetarian, if you eat dairy, you still killing animals? That's just one example I think, it possibly applies to eggs too?

bigmouthstrikesagain Mon 24-Apr-17 23:22:42

Having butcher's in your family tree doesn't preclude you from understanding/ being vegan/ vegetarian. My Grandfather and great grandfather were butchers. My Dad was a meat and two veg and black pudding man .. Right up to his death aged 54 and his forefathers also died in their fifties.

I have been vegetarian since I was 15, so 28 years so far. I have dabbled in veganism but I found it too difficult I prefer to limit my environmental impact on the world but I am not perfect. It is easier now to be veggie and vegan - nearly 30 years ago it was all sosmix and cheese sarnies and beans on toast (as a poor student). But the variety of alternatives available now is fantastic.

It is true that there are many issues with continuing to

Pinkandwhiteblossoms Mon 24-Apr-17 23:24:35

I think every time someone chooses a cruelty free alternative, it's good.