Talk

Advanced search

To keep the kids away from my MIL?

(17 Posts)
helloworld2012 Tue 18-Apr-17 19:59:10

This is my first time posting. I'm sorry, it's really long. Skip to the 6th paragraph if you only want the basics.

My MIL and I have always had a difficult relationship. It's not just me who has trouble with her; she's fallen out with 4 of her sisters over minor things (comments about the dog not being well-trained for example) and cut contact with them and often falls out with us (my DH and me) whenever we don't do something she wants.

We live abroad, my DH and his family are from here, I'm British. I speak the language fluently but there have been many clashes over differences in culture and their expectations of a dil.

My mil is very controlling and vocal about her disapproval of certain things I do or don't do. Ironing (or lack of), clutter in my house, my make up (I have a scar on my face and cover it using special camouflage make up which she has told me is too greasy), my hair, our parenting, my cooking... all that and more has been criticised to my face.