Talk

Advanced search

WWYD -maternity/redundancy

(16 Posts)
karmacoma1 Tue 11-Apr-17 16:19:09

Was going to name change but details are pretty much outing anyway.

I'm an account manager for a wholesale company. I'm currently on mat leave, dd is a month old,

I work in a team of 7, 3 of us are currently on mat leave, and there's two people in to cover us.

Yesterday there was an emergency meeting, and those on maternity leave had to dial in to a conference call.

The outcome of the call is that the powers of be are completely changing our job roles - rather than account managers, we will now be sales support ops and rather than have our own accounts, we are basically back office support for field sales reps. It's a step down, however they want to dress it up - our salary remains the same, but as we are no longer sakes we don't have the opportunity to earn bonus, something that really supplemented my income.

As there's 7 roles but 9 potential employees, we have been offered redundancy. I haven't had the paperwork yet, but heard the rough figure, which I obviously can't disclose. It's not a huge amount but works out to roughly 5:6 months wages.

I'm furious about the whole thing. I applied for a job as account manager NOT a customer service/admin role. If I didn't have dd, my choice would be easy, but now I have her I'm not sure what to do. sad

I wanted to return to my role to ease myself back in after maternity - my confidence is knocked and the thought of applying and going to a completely new job with new people is daunting.

Plus I've been at my job for 3 years- what's the job market currently like? Would I find another role easily? Would I even be considered over other candidates after having 9 months out of work?

Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Help!

MarcelineQueen Tue 11-Apr-17 16:23:48