Talk

Advanced search

To be terrified before ultrasounds?

(16 Posts)
patronsaintofglocks Fri 07-Apr-17 12:59:30

Hi, I'm quite new to mumsnet so please go easy on me.

I'm 15 weeks pregnant with my first baby. So far I've been blessed with a very easy pregnancy, little sickness but quite a lot of tiredness.
I've gained weight but as a size 18/20 it's not very obvious.
I've had three scans already, a very early one at 8 weeks to check if the pregnancy was progressing well, another after a mild electric shock and my dating scan at 11+7.

I have another private scan booked for next Saturday to check the sex and I'm very excited but also terrified. Irrationally terrified.
I am always so so afraid that when they go to scan me, they won't find a heartbeat or something will be very wrong.

I know it's irrational but I'm so anxious, and have been previously diagnosed with depression, anxiety and a mood disorder.

Has anyone else felt this way?

Thank you for listening.

NavyandWhite Fri 07-Apr-17 13:02:28

You don't have to have the scan next week. Finding out the sex isn't a necessity. If you're that nervous cancel it. I'm confused to why you're so worried when you've already had 3 scans?

isupposeitsverynice Fri 07-Apr-17 13:04:15

Yes! I was terrified before every scan with both of mine. It probably comes from being a bit anvxious generally, I'm also like that.

patronsaintofglocks Fri 07-Apr-17 13:05:00

Hi.

I know the sexing scan isn't necessary but I would rather be reassured by seeing and hearing a heartbeat, than just cancelling the scan.

I was just hoping someone could give me some reassurance and/or share similar fears.

patronsaintofglocks Fri 07-Apr-17 13:06:09

Thank you, isuppose- i was curious if others have felt the same.

Areyoufree Fri 07-Apr-17 13:06:23