Talk

Advanced search

..to consider paying for private orthodontics?

(9 Posts)
user1479426600 Thu 06-Apr-17 14:48:16

After seeing a private orthodontist a few days ago, I've been told I need a fixed brace (was previously told I needed invisalign, but apparently that's a no go) for 18-24 months, then surgery to move my jaw forward, and then another 6 months of fixed brace.

Apparently, due to being between 18-22 years old, I may be able to get the surgery on the NHS, and if so, possibly the braces, however I could choose to have the private braces instead, with the NHS surgery.

On researching the NHS traintracks versus the private Damon braces, the private ones seem a lot more subtle, take a shorter amount of time, and work more comfortably. However, of course it's a £4800 price tag. I have been saving for the jaw surgery since I was 15, so have the money, but I'm still a poor student and really I could use the money in the future towards a car, deposit, other sensible things!

Am I being unreasonable to consider private braces, for, to be honest, my concerns about my appearance? Does anyone have experience of NHS/private braces, or how having braces has affected you as an adult?

Does anyone notice/judge you for them?

Thank you very much for any responses!

ZeldaWasMyGransName Thu 06-Apr-17 14:54:12

Had train tracks top and bottom in mid 20s, after I did three friends did the same! They had all been worried about what it'd be like but went ahead after seeing mine.

Apparently metal train tracks work the best as well as being cheaper (although hopefully an orthodontist might come along and comment!).

Most, and I mean most people didn't even notice when I had them, and when I had them taken off! It's one of those things where you are conscious of it but it barely crosses anyone's else mind. Met long term partner while I had them on also!

Save your money.

MaidOfStars Thu 06-Apr-17 14:55:02