Talk

Advanced search

Big family holiday aibu

(33 Posts)
Billybullshitterz Wed 05-Apr-17 12:43:57

Hello vipers help me get some perspective here. My parents are both hale and hearty and are both hitting the big 60 this year. As part of their celebrations they have decided to rent a villa somewhere hot and sunny for three weeks this summer. They have their best friends spending time with them and have invited my brother, his lovely girlfriend and my 20 year old DS to visit them for part of the time. I'm a teacher obviously restricted to holidays and am feeling just a bit miffed that she has booked the villa for September meaning me or DP attending is not an option. I was simply told that they were all going then and thats that. DP could go but hasn't been invited. I know it's their birthday so up to them what they decide what they want and I'm sure DS is going to love a week or so with grandparents and Dbro.

As an aside they are all attending a big overseas family wedding that again I can't attend because of work, I'm fine with this but for some the holiday plans do smart a little. So AIBU to feel a little pissed off that I'm being excluded or smile sweetly and let them get on with it? grin

JonesyAndTheSalad Thu 06-Apr-17 12:27:15

Perhaps they can't afford the prices during the holidays.

Allthebestnamesareused Thu 06-Apr-17 13:34:03

There is a big difference between the 6 week state school holiday prices and the September prices for a villa. Also maybe they don't want to be surrounded by screaming schoolkids whilst on their breaks.

Billybullshitterz Thu 06-Apr-17 13:39:44

I understand that. And at the end of the day they can do as they wish. I just feel excluded from their celebrations. When I had my recent big birthday I made sure everyone who wanted to was involved. I know it's their choice but no way would I want to exclude a DC from a big family celebration.

EnormousTiger Thu 06-Apr-17 14:08:03