Talk

Advanced search

to bin anything not washed up?

(14 Posts)
froofroomcgoo Wed 05-Apr-17 08:35:34

I work in the public sector. In my office we have a kitchenette, shared by around 30 people. Some of those people do not wash up. Ever - leaving porridge encrusted bowls, yogurt covered spoons, egg remnants for others to deal with. There is the obligatory "please wash up your own pots" sign which these people clearly ignore. I'm sure it's the same people, as everyone who has their own (from home) bowls, plates, cutlery etc on their desk, nice and clean, clearly washes up. The offenders use the items from the odds and sods cupboard items, owned by no-one, the chipped plate, the Tesco value mugs etc and then dump them in the sink.

I don't wash them up, I just ignore them, but I have to take them out of the sink, and put them on the side to do my own washing up, it's grim.

WIBU to put a sign up stating anything not washed up from now on will be binned?

Trifleorbust Wed 05-Apr-17 08:36:41

You would be unreasonable. Complain to whoever manages the building.

froofroomcgoo Wed 05-Apr-17 08:43:16

trifle there is no one to complain to. The team who manage the building deal with things like broken toilets, not things like this. We don't have cleaners and we don't have an overall manager - we are all managed by different people, most of them off site.

Trifleorbust Wed 05-Apr-17 08:47:17

Is there any way of removing items and placing them somewhere, not washed up? You can't really chuck people's things.

TheProblemOfSusan Wed 05-Apr-17 09:00:42

That's what I do, Trifleorbust - we share a kitchenette with IT and some of them are filthbuckets. I know it's not my very small team because I see them washing up a lot and they know it drives me potty. So I remove items from the sink and dump them on IT's fridge where they only get washed when someone wants one.