Talk

Advanced search

secondary science to uni admin

(32 Posts)
mumofoneofeach75 Sun 02-Apr-17 13:22:24

re-posting from Higher Ed for hopefully a few more responses (thanks BizzyFizzy for your responses there)...
I'm hoping to get some advice on a possible career change. I've been a secondary science teacher for 9 years and need to leave - work place bullying, excessive workload, unachievable targets etc etc. I've looked for jobs in all sorts of areas, schools data officer, school admin etc but there's not much in my area. After widening my search and signing up for more job alerts, lots of uni admin jobs are coming up. I'm a single mum and not sure how I would cope with such a big drop in salary. But I'm really desperate and at over 40, don't think I have a lot of options. If I could do some exam marking and tutoring on the side, could I make this work? I'm considering an au pair for child care to help with having to work the school holidays. Any advice would be much appreciated.

AgathaMystery Sun 02-Apr-17 13:24:49

You could do a masters in nursing with your current qualifications & move into NHS management.

mumofoneofeach75 Sun 02-Apr-17 13:36:58

I didn't know that. Would it matter which undergraduate degree I did? Also, I always thought that for most NHS jobs, you had to start at a very low grade then work your way up. thanks for replying.

NickMyLipple Sun 02-Apr-17 13:43:33

mum it isn't always that simple to get a management job in the NHS. Nurse managers are usually required to have 3 years post registration experience before they start moving into more senior roles - it's 3 years of full time work to train to be a Nurse, no funding at all anymore (£9k/year debt for the fees, too) and then you'd have to work for pittance (after tax) in a very physically and mentally demanding job.