Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To think if the minimum wage has gone up all other salaries should too?

(107 Posts)
PlayOnWurtz Fri 31-Mar-17 08:23:48

Because they haven't. I work in the public sector and My salary is now shit. For the stress I am under and the responsibilities I have my salary has become grossly devalued due to the NMW to the point I'm seriously considering jacking my job in and going to work in my local garden centre where I would probably enjoy myself more.

Aibu?

TheNaze73 Fri 31-Mar-17 08:25:13

No YANBU. You should work at the garden centre if it'll make you happy

watchoutformybutt Fri 31-Mar-17 08:25:50

YANBU the management commitee I'm on has just raised everyone's wages from those on NMW up to managers. We thought it was important to keep the differentiation there.

pinkblink Fri 31-Mar-17 08:26:13

No I get it, the cost of living has gone up for people on higher wages too, people who worked their way up to afford nicer things and more treats, which there will be less of if the basics have gone up in price

StereophonicallyChallenged Fri 31-Mar-17 08:27:32

In an ideal world all employers would reassess and adjust but it won't happen.

SaucyJack Fri 31-Mar-17 08:28:08

Well work in a garden centre if it'll make you happy. Your life matey :-)

But YABU to think that care workers or whatevs aren't also doing extremely stressful jobs that deserve a rate of pay that's slightly more in line average wages.

museumum Fri 31-Mar-17 08:30:25

If you're in the public sector then your union will be trying to negotiate an equivalent increase to keep the banding making sense in relation to relative skill and responsibility.
If you're not in a union then join - that's what they're for!

ShatnersWig Fri 31-Mar-17 08:30:34