Talk

Advanced search

to amend my CV?? Help!

(8 Posts)
BettyBaggins Mon 27-Mar-17 15:20:04

I am actively searching to rejoin the employed after being self employed and working abroad, now back in UK, for a number for years.

I am applying for vacancies in my old professional career but in the meantime due to few openings need to temp and/or apply for roles that are a 'step down'. I am having problems getting any bites with my CV. I don't want to be self employed in UK and really want a 'normal' job.

Concerned I am over qualified would I be unreasonable to amend some of my job titles in my work experience? For example if I was a Marketing Manager can I change that title to Marketing Administrator? I usually had to do all of my own administration so I have the skills but I feel like I am being dishonest!!!

Betty is getting desperate and hungry what should I do!!!? I applied for a couple of supermarket jobs last week, I am really willing to work but I am getting turned down after completing some of the online assessments. This is not helping my confidence but my budgeting skills are getting really, really good as I watch my savings dwindle fast! confused

SeparatedByMotorways Mon 27-Mar-17 15:28:20

I don't have much help to offer unfortunately but just wanted to ask if you're going through a temp agency? They're variable in quality but I've been with agencies who have bent over backwards to help me with CV stuff. I can't imagine they would recommend you amend job titles but they might be able to help you reframe stuff to help pick up some temp work more quickly.

honeyroar Mon 27-Mar-17 16:01:25

If it's any consolation, my friend keeps getting rejected for supermarket jobs too on the online assessment thing. She finally met someone who worked for a supermarket and asked where she was going wrong and it turned out she'd been too proactive in her answers, the correct answer was always "ask a manager". Not doing things off your own back.