Talk

Advanced search

To be annoyed at my brother and SIL?

(165 Posts)
rainbowsockstoday Sat 25-Mar-17 09:54:13

My brother and his fiancé are getting married in June. The wedding has been in the planning for a couple of years now and they have been full on all the time so some us will be pleased when the constant pressure stops. I'm a bridesmaid and so am trying to be positive but yesterday all people did was complain about me!

My first crime was that I'm going home the day after the wedding (it's abroad) on the Sunday because I have school on the Monday. My family told me to just tell school that I'll be in later that week so I can stay longer. They don't seem to understand that as a teacher I can't just put in holiday and have to go during term time.

My second is not going to the first hen do (there's three) because it's going to be nearly £400 and that's a lot for one weekend when we are already paying £1100 to attend the wedding.

Third is saying I don't want to lose weight. We are ttc right now so it's not an ideal time to go on a crash diet and I'm not overweight (size 8). She wants us all to "look our best" because she has to "look at the wedding pictures forever" given I'm buying my own bridesmaids dress I don't see what it matters.

I think I'm just being over sensitive because they called our wedding boring so feel free to call me out on it.

GeillisTheWitch Sat 25-Mar-17 09:57:59

The bride and groom sound awful. How dare they tell you to lose weight for their wedding and call your wedding boring. How some people get to this age without realising that the world doesn't revolve around them is a mystery to me.

Cherrysoup Sat 25-Mar-17 09:58:53