Talk

Advanced search

To despair at the SPAG SATS test??

(14 Posts)
Notcontent Mon 20-Mar-17 22:45:17

I am really anal about using correct grammar, etc. I fully agree with children being taught and tested on their use of grammar and punctuation. I also think it's really useful to understand the basics of language structure such as what is a verb, prefixes, etc. All good stuff.

BUT really - what is the use of learning about present perfect, co-ordinating conjunction, etc. My year 6 dd is currently cramming this stuff with her class mates. Many of them are not good at writing and learning all this abstract stuff is not going to help them to write well!

thatdearoctopus Mon 20-Mar-17 22:59:18

Yep, and I think most teachers would agree with you. However, we have to put up, shut up and teach it anyway or be closed down. angry

NorksAkimbo72 Tue 21-Mar-17 09:12:30

I agree...i have a year 6 DC, and his homework stresses me out!! I was an English teacher for 10 years, secondary level, and didn't teach many of the complex grammar stuff that is required in yr 6. Punctuation, spelling, and basic sentence structure is all good, but the rest is a bit OTT.

someonestolemynick Tue 21-Mar-17 10:26:43

It's very useful for learning a foreign language with a more complex grammar.

Can you guess that I'm a German teacher? Learning and understanding about your own grammar is not the most exciting thing in the world, but being able to label what's going on in a sentence will help you to speak correctly and to understand why you need to say certain things a certain way. The best age to learn this is when fairly young. Start easy in y1 and y2 with parts of speech and tenses and introduce the rest bit by bit. English grammar is really quite straight forward in comparison. The reason the kids are struggling now is that they have to cram lots in a fairly short space of time.