Talk

Advanced search

To think I have a feminist mandate to make lots of money even if that involves compromise

(21 Posts)
Smashedinductionhob Sun 19-Mar-17 10:26:38

I am a business lawyer with 20years'experience.

I'm at the point where I genuinely have something to say/something to offer to technology companies as they start and grow. To sum up, I can not only tell them the geeky legal implications of a deal, I can tell them if it is the right deal or not.

Now the kids are older I am transitioning from a word-of-mouth, part-time model earning relatively little to an active growth model.

The problem is that my strong instincts to help clients and warn them not to overspend on legal stuff are very hard to communicate in marketing materials. My efforts so far (according to feedback)come across as suggesting I am somehow not the best. That's frustrating!

A friendly reviewer said I'm presenting mysef as if my audience already knew all the nuances but they don't. She suggesting more simple marketing -a bit more me me me if you like -and suggested I consider myself to have a feminist mandate to move the money to my pocket where it will do more good than in the pockets of my male rivals.

I have a friend with the same problem. Most business owners feel a bit thrilled at the idea of having lots of patents. She tells them the truth about this (some of the money would be better spent elsewhere). But then she doesn't win the business -they give the business to men who exaggerate what a certain patent can do for them - and so never gets to help them.

I would be very glad to hear from anyone who has had a similar dilemma.

I do appreciate that many men have similar dilemmas but think most unscrupulous business people are men IYSWIM.

Trills Sun 19-Mar-17 10:35:43

Could you make marketing materials that say:

Other firms will promise things that they cannot deliver
I will be realistic
You want me

Smashedinductionhob Sun 19-Mar-17 10:37:17