Talk

Advanced search

to ask for help writing a speech?

(16 Posts)
Screamifuwant2gofaster Thu 09-Mar-17 20:43:52

Tomorrow I've got to give a 5 mins speech at a formal 'old boys type'dinner. It's the annual meal for a club (don't want to say what club, it'd be outing). There will be about 60 guests and several speeches. I've been asked just to thank the guests. Most of the guests are aged 75+. Few under 60. I'm guessing I'm supposed to say 'thanks for comin'g in a long drawn out way and include some sort of funny story?! I've got zero experience in this sort of thing.

Know this isn't a very interesting AIBU but would really appreciate any ideas... I'm dreading it! Posting here for traffic. Please help!

Scribblegirl Thu 09-Mar-17 20:44:35

Ok. Why have you been asked to speak? smile

Etymology23 Thu 09-Mar-17 20:46:07

Any stories from when you were there? Drive making? Sports? People not doing any work and now being jolly successful?

Etymology23 Thu 09-Mar-17 20:46:26

Drive making = drinking...

ThreeFish Thu 09-Mar-17 20:46:53

Why would you be thanking the guests specifically? Do you mean you have to thank the other speakers on behalf of your club?

hellinabreadbasket Thu 09-Mar-17 20:51:42

Maybe start with a "thanks for coming - I know I have dragged you away from insert joke based on the interest of club then I know some of you have been members since back when - then insert story from that tine then thanks for coming again etc

Trifleorbust Thu 09-Mar-17 20:57:00

Without knowing what sort of club or why you have been invited to speak...

Screamifuwant2gofaster Thu 09-Mar-17 21:00:02