Talk

Advanced search

To think missing a portion of a lesson is not an appropriate sanction?

(62 Posts)
MsGameandWatch Wed 01-Mar-17 18:49:39

Even if it's a favourite lesson, it's still a lesson, it's on the NC, it's part of their education. I don't think it should be used as a sanction punishment.

mumtomaxwell Wed 01-Mar-17 18:54:27

It depends on the circumstances... I'm a teacher and I exclude students from my lesson if they are disruptive and disturbing the learning of others in the class. I simply won't tolerate that in my classroom!
But as a general sanction for something else then I agree it's not really appropriate.

Trifleorbust Wed 01-Mar-17 18:55:25

I remove students from my lesson when they are stopping me from teaching and others from learning. It isn't a punishment.

What happened in this case?

MsGameandWatch Wed 01-Mar-17 18:56:37

It was an incident that happened elsewhere. Not disruptive, a minor disagreement between two class members where one refused to apologise as she didn't believe she was in the wrong. She was told she'd miss a portion of her favourite lesson later in the afternoon.

Euphemia Wed 01-Mar-17 18:56:50

Is it PE?

HighwayDragon1 Wed 01-Mar-17 18:57:03

Disruptive kids are removed from our lessons. Even low level disruption negatively impacts the kids around them!

Trifleorbust Wed 01-Mar-17 18:58:26

Miss it because it is her favourite, or miss it as part of an isolation/withdrawal, which just happened to be during that lesson?

MsGameandWatch Wed 01-Mar-17 18:58:48

No disruption in lessons. A playground disagreement earlier in the day.

Blueemeraldagain Wed 01-Mar-17 19:03:35

That would only happen at my school if statements were being taken or we thought there was a real risk of a serious incident (if the two were the class together). Otherwise it totally undermines any conversation about bunking lessons.

EllaHen Wed 01-Mar-17 19:04:42

Did they use the time to mediate a resolution between the pupils?