Talk

Advanced search

Don't even know if I'm asking AIBU - I don't know what to think! Postman!

(209 Posts)
strawberrisc Tue 21-Feb-17 13:59:14

I work in education so I am off work at the moment - along with my 13 year old daughter as it's half-term.

We've already been out for the last few days and so we're having a lazy day today before going out tomorrow. Despite stocking up she fancied a sandwhich with the one filling I don't have and I fancied a walk - albeit a 5 minute one. The shop is literally a 5 minute walk from our cul-de-sac.

I didn't lock the door because a) you can't break wind in this road without everyone knowing b) both sets of neighbours are in and b) I worry about locking the door and there being a fire.

I was gone less then 15 minutes. When I came back my daughter shouted, as I came in 'is that you? Someone opened the door and came in'. When I looked the postman had left a parcel in my hallway.

I don't know what to think for a number of reasons.

He's a decent guy and we've chatted on several occasions. He's been on this route for years.

But also: when I'm in work his collegue leaves one of those awful cards where I have to go all the way to the sorting office. However, this postman always leaves parcels in my lean-to between the wheelie bins. Why on earth would today be any different? It's a quite close so why would he even try the door and not leave the parcel in the usual place?

1AnnoyingOrange Tue 21-Feb-17 14:01:54

Is your car in the drive? Would it normally be gone? Maybe he thought you were in house knocked but couldnt hear him so just put it inside door?

SundialShadow Tue 21-Feb-17 14:03:12

Ask him tomorrow why he tried the door. It may be perfectly innocent like he saw you going out and not locking the door so decided to do you a favour.

Purplehonesty Tue 21-Feb-17 14:04:02

That's totally normal here. Postie always tries the door and puts parcel in the kitchen