Talk

Advanced search

To ask if you delete someone on whatsapp what happens?

(30 Posts)
Ohbuddyhell Tue 21-Feb-17 00:40:55

They can still message you should they choose to right?!

I want the other person to have the option of contacting me without knowing I can't contact them

Yes it's a guy! I don't want to risk lonely messaging him so trying to save face by removing the possibility entirely

blush

MiddleClassProblem Tue 21-Feb-17 00:46:13

Why do you want him to contact you?

MiddleClassProblem Tue 21-Feb-17 00:46:23

Sorry missing the point

MiddleClassProblem Tue 21-Feb-17 00:46:55

You haven't blocked them so I think if they have your contact they can still message

AlmostAJillSandwich Tue 21-Feb-17 02:21:49

My dad has deleted his ex girlfriend after her getting nasty with him multiple times after they split (falsely accused him of cheating all the time, going through his facebook posts from 3 years ago demanding to know who is this woman, why's she posted that etc worst asking WHY does it say you were married in 2009?! because he was, to my mum, who died 2010 which she knew about.)
Sadly you cannot block someones Whatspp, so despite deleting and blocking her number from text, her facebook etc she can still message him on whatsapp which she is doing relentlessly.

So yeah, you can delete his number but he can still contact you.

cazisalittlenuts Tue 21-Feb-17 02:26:37

Ive actually blocked people on whatsapp before jillsandwich. On android, in conversation view, hit the 3 dots then click more and block should be under there

apologies for typo's posting from phone and touchscreens are not my friend!

Redglitter Tue 21-Feb-17 02:27:20

You absolutely can block someone on What's App I have 2 people blocked

ColourfulOrangex Tue 21-Feb-17 03:07:20

Yep I have a few blocked on WhatsApp blush I think if you just delete them it's just like deleting your thread history you can both still contact each other

EmeraldScorn Tue 21-Feb-17 03:17:18

He won't know that you have deleted him from your WhatsApp contact list because your name will still appear on his contact list (unless he has had the same idea as you and deleted you too).

If he messages you, you will still receive his message but you will be prompted to "accept" or "reject" - He won't know either way.

You can block him as well which works slightly differently; He can still write you a message and hit send but you will not receive it and you will not be notified of its existence - However if he's clued in to the WhatsApp platform and how it works etc then he may deduce at some point that he has been blocked when none of his messages to you change to "read" etc.

Robstersgirl Tue 21-Feb-17 08:59:21

You can tell you've been blocked as the information on the top saying when you were last online doesn't show.

Gallavich Tue 21-Feb-17 09:00:32

Lots of people men hide their last online status though

Sillysausage123 Tue 21-Feb-17 09:08:00

It doesn't mean you have been blocked if the person doesn't show when they were last online. You can choose not to show when you were online

murphys Tue 21-Feb-17 09:09:33

You can hide your last online information though.

murphys Tue 21-Feb-17 09:11:42

So, OP you don't want the temptation available for you to be messaging him a drunk text or whatever by just deleting his number. So what will happen if he messages you? Do you plan on not replying, or you just want to see if he really is still going to message you.

needmoregin Tue 21-Feb-17 09:12:29

Um he will know as your photo won't show any more ...
The blocking option is a beautiful thing I have 25 on block .. the only thing I don't like is if you take them out of your address book then they are just numbers.So no idea who must of them are now ( I've had whatsapp since it started)

murphys Tue 21-Feb-17 09:14:47

Need someone you have blocked can still see your profile pic. But it stays on the picture that you had at the time of blocking them. If you update your picture, they will not see the new one.

pinkdelight Tue 21-Feb-17 09:19:50

They disappear in real life!

Robstersgirl Tue 21-Feb-17 09:31:29

Oh! I never knew you could hide the last online!

murphys Tue 21-Feb-17 09:38:13

Go into your privacy settings. But then you cannot see other peoples last online if you set your own.

The same if you disable the two blue ticks.

Sillysausage123 Tue 21-Feb-17 16:39:11

Why do people not want others to see when they are last online?

Gallavich Tue 21-Feb-17 16:48:08

People who are dating lots of people don't want people to know how much they are online. Also people who are cheating on people.

MiddleClassProblem Tue 21-Feb-17 16:53:52

Or people with needy friends/family who tell you off for not messaging when online my mum

MiddleClassProblem Tue 21-Feb-17 16:55:26

Or people who see you're online, or not long ago, so know you are awake and immediately call you -my mum--

MiddleClassProblem Tue 21-Feb-17 16:55:40

Cross out fail

Sillysausage123 Tue 21-Feb-17 18:06:47

I can understand not wanting people to know they online and then people phoning or asking why they not responding to messages but how does being online mean someone is cheating ?
This is genuine question as there could be a million reasons someone is online

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now