Talk

Advanced search

Desperate and unemployed

(43 Posts)
Octuscactus Sat 18-Feb-17 20:27:35

Hi!
I am so upset and angry. For months I've been looking for a job. I really need something that pays me from 18k a year. I've got experience and qualification (university degree) but all from overseas.
I've got some experience here (almost 1 year). I've been to 3 interviews, from reception to office assistant and nothing happens. Even when I think I did well sad
I am desperate as I really need a job in order to survive. I'm buying reduced food and freezing it so I have something to eat. It's been so difficult. I'm in tears writing this thread.

I use totaljobs, indeed, monster, jobsite.

How long does it take usually for someone to get a job? Any advices on what I'm doing wrong?

Xx

witsender Sat 18-Feb-17 20:28:32

Could you look for part time, or something paying less to start with?

Crazyvaperlady Sat 18-Feb-17 20:29:39

A job is a job. If u genuinely need a job to 'survive' then a minimum wage fast food job would do that until something more suitable comes along. I find not being so fussy and thinking certain jobs are beneath me helps enormously... takes some swallowing of pride but if it pays the bills that's all that matters smile good luck!

PollyHampton Sat 18-Feb-17 20:30:50

Okay, let's break this down. Why £18k? Are you claiming all benefits that you can? Can you get unskilled work to tide you over? Have you had feedback as to why you're not getting the jobs you've applied for?

MrsBrew005 Sat 18-Feb-17 20:32:03

Hi

I'm so sorry your going through this at the minute, there's nothing worse than not having work it will get better for you, you sound like you have a food education behind you but flowerswine for now.