Talk

Advanced search

To think moving to London isn't completely in doable

(265 Posts)
user1486841477 Sat 11-Feb-17 19:35:23

I'm a qualified social worker currently living in chester.

I have been taking driving lessons for months now and I've not completely run out of money as I'm currently unemployed.

My problem is that to realistically work as a social worker here I need a car. I'm doing well in interviews and as soon as I have to say I don't drive everything changes.

I almost got a job as a hospital social worker but was second place.

user1486841477 Sat 11-Feb-17 19:38:08

Sorry posted too early.

I currently have a housing association house in an area I'm not keen on at all. It's not rough but has nothing going for it and a bus is needed to get anywhere.

I feel there is nothing here for my son and I and until I can drive will be unemployed as hospital social worker jobs are far and few between. I'm becoming depressed with my prospects.

There are loads of jobs in a London for social workers, none of which need a car due to the fact London has such a good tram system and a large concentration of people hence each social worker covers a smaller area.

Would it be unrealistic to move to London if I got a job? I would be starting in £33,000

user1486841477 Sat 11-Feb-17 19:39:24

It would mean giving up a secure tenancy win right to acquire and moving into private rent which is the only thing putting me off. But I can't stay unemployed forever.

BlancheBlue Sat 11-Feb-17 19:41:14

Depends what lifestyle you want/would be happy with? London Boroughs are frequently recruiting social workers and some have golden hellos and recruitment and retention payments.

I obviously don't know your personal financial circumstances, but as I'm sure you know, renting is hugely expensive in London let alone buying...

monkeysox Sat 11-Feb-17 19:42:15

Move to a different area that has a ha tenancy available which has social work.jobs which do not require you to drive?