Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to resent DP planning to give up work.

(181 Posts)
flopseyR72 Sat 11-Feb-17 12:32:01

I have to face decision again.

I feel resentful of my DP but don't know if AIBU or not?

In nutshell. DP is 54 not so keen on having more kids (he has 4 which 3 of which he is estranged from and one grown up one which he did not bring up). Anyway I pressured him to have one with me. I am now 41 and my DS is 1.5.

Anyway part of the loose agreement was he wanted to give up work he is a professional with own business. He makes good money but spends it all. No pension only property of his business. He wants to sell his business and live of the rent.

I am a professional but work practically full time. I have a relatively stress free job for my profession. Other jobs can be very stressful with long hours weekend work etc. The location I work in Essex/East London is not the nicest. I stay at this job for its relative stress free and favourable conditions. Some working from home allows me to have DD in work nursery only three days 9 to 5 and still earn full time pay.

Anyway to cut a story short. DP wants me to move to another location down south. Buy the property myself. He will contribute some living expenses from his property/business let. And I will work and commute to a new job. Property will be in my name

The thing is I feel like this is unfair. I want to keep our finances separate as I need to protect my DD from his estranged children if anything happened to DP as they would want a share of his estate. As these children seem to hate Dp this could be messy.