Talk

Advanced search

To worry about my colleague's mental health?

(11 Posts)
HoratioHornbag Tue 07-Feb-17 19:16:39

NC for this. I am in a 2 person office with a colleague who I have been working with for the last 4 years ish. I have always known she is quite highly strung and gets very worked up and fixated over very small issues that are easily resolved.

I was recently put in to the same office as her (not something I think could be changed due to space issues - hence the move) and since then she has been driving me up the wall. If even the most minor thing happens (for example someone sending a slightly snotty-toned email) she will fixate about it for the entire day. She'll vocalise all of her anxieties about things, out loud to me. "Why would they write an email like that? It doesn't even say thank you or kind regards. What does regards mean? Does it mean they hate me?" on and on and on like that. I struggle to concentrate because of it. I had so much work to do today, that needed her input too, and every time I tried to steer the conversation to work matters she would just ignore me and keep talking. I feel like I spend a lot of time counselling her over every small thing. "I'm sure they didn't mean anything by it" "it'll be fine" etc etc. She is much older than me and has a lot more experience - I feel like an idiot talking to her like that.

My boss knows about this and he has had a few conversations in the past because of concerns raised by me and other members of staff. I have always tried to come at it from a supportive/concerned perspective rather than being really negative, but the softly softly approach hasn't worked.

When my boss has spoken to her she then says to us that he is just nagging her and she'll do things her own way. What can I do?! I am worried about her constant fretting/anxiety - it's not healthy and it's impacting on my work and our ability to get things done as a team.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.