Talk

Advanced search

Too see my arse?

(11 Posts)
studentnurse1234 Tue 07-Feb-17 11:45:58

I'm a fulltime student with an income of a bursary (I know I'm very lucky!). My OH is wonderful and the most caring person, we live separately with an hour and half journey between us. We see eachother around once a fortnight for the weekend which works well for us. However, more often than not it's usually me travelling to see him. Recently he's been concerned with saving money, which I understand he needs to do. Despite his income being three times more than mine, we split everything down the middle exactly. My AIBU is if he wants to save money, why does he constantly agree to go out with work colleagues, arrange nights out in his home town, meet up with old work friends and attend leaving do's? Yet complain and say he has to save money when we go out?
Just hoping for another perspective on this!

NavyandWhite Tue 07-Feb-17 11:48:16

Of course he's wrong. I'd insist he comes to you once a month. He's taking the piss.

WizardOfToss Tue 07-Feb-17 11:50:45

Well, he's made his priorities very clear, hasn't he? It doesn't sound very wonderful and caring, more selfish.

Have you discussed how you feel?

studentnurse1234 Tue 07-Feb-17 12:09:23

Yes it's been discussed and it's been a mutual agreement we both make the journey once a month. IT came to ahead during a phone conversation last week whilst discussing watching the Rugby this Sunday, he mentioned that he doesn't want to spend much. Having brought this up with him he doesn't see my point of view despite explaining that he wouldn't say that to his colleagues or friends. It's fallen on deaf ears as he's going out on Saturday...

TheMysteriousJackelope Tue 07-Feb-17 12:15:07

I would take this quite seriously as it speaks to a lack of common sense and self control when it comes to spending money. I would find continual whining about something when there is a screamingly obvious fix boring and frustrating.