Talk

Advanced search

...to want to keep my car?

(74 Posts)
Splashingincuddles Sat 04-Feb-17 14:14:40

I am on maternity leave and expecting our DD any day. We already have a DS who is 2.5. As a teacher I get pretty good maternity pay but this is going to decrease significantly as the weeks go on and we are also doing a lot of work on our house, which is costly. We live in a village in a fairly rural location (it is not walking distance to the nearest town/supermarket but we are on a bus route).

My DH has suggested that we run only one car while I'm not needing to commute to work - admittedly my car is old and does cost a lot to run and maintain - his is paid for using a company car allowance.

Are there any other mums who have done maternity leave with no car? I can walk/bus DS to preschool and I am not at all averse to going on a bus or train for a day out. I am also happy to do grocery shopping online. I just feel like I'm going to feel a little 'trapped' and will have to organise car sharing with military precision. I'm also envisaging a total nightmare when trying to manoeuvre and manhandle a pram/newborn and toddler onto a bus or train.

I'm wondering if I'm being totally unreasonable - is a car really necessary or is it a luxury when finances are tight? How have other car-less mums managed with small children?

Sirzy Sat 04-Feb-17 14:17:54

What will you do when you go back to work?

SaucyDough Sat 04-Feb-17 14:19:50

Sell the car and buy a more efficient one when you go back to work.

rubberducker Sat 04-Feb-17 14:24:00

No way would i be without a car on mat leave. It's hard enough getting out the house with a baby and toddler without then having to factor in fitting into a set timetable for travel. I know some people have to but I love the freedom being able to drive gives me and would give up a lot before I got rid of my car.

Floralnomad Sat 04-Feb-17 14:25:51