Talk

Advanced search

To be paid for a job done

(20 Posts)
MaggieMagpie1 Fri 03-Feb-17 23:33:22

My dh is a self employed handyman. He has worked very hard for the last five years to build up his business. I work full time as a PA, but help him out with his HR/Admin etc.

When he first started out he was very cautious about charging a decent price for the work he was doing, but over the time he's been working at this business, he's begun charging more what is reasonable for his work.

What's annoying me is that some of his customers are not paying him when the job is complete. His terms are full payment on completion of the job. This is stated on all quotes, which are supplied in writing before the job is started. Some of his customers pay by cheque, which while it involves delays and therefore possible cashflow problems, at least it's paid.

Most customers pay by bank transfer, or very occasionally in cash but I have noticed recently that they seem to suggest that they'll pay "within the next few days"

I should add that these comments even come when the customer has looked at the job and is happy with it.

AIBU to think that when the job is complete and the customer is happy then the job should be paid for? Not in the next day or so (which has on occasion taken up to a month) but right away?

Whenever I've had someone doing work in my house I've always had the money for them, maybe things have changed though, and I know I could be biased given the nature of dh's work.

Am genuinely curious

NoChocolateThanks Sat 04-Feb-17 18:18:55

It sounds terrible,surely someone who requires a service has an understanding of the cost and should be prepared to pay shock
But I heard from self employed friends that it getting worse nowadays,people don't want to part with their money or expect discount ,trying to find reason not to pay in full.It looks like it really hard to be self employed atm

Talith Sat 04-Feb-17 18:25:57