Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to think a driving licence with my photo is a valid form of ID?

(51 Posts)
OdinsLoveChild Wed 01-Feb-17 09:52:16

Ive been job hunting and have been asked to provide my up to date passport to confirm my identity.
My passport ran out years ago and is in my maiden name anyway.
I gave them my recent (5 years old) up to date photo driving licence which clearly states my name, date of birth and place of birth confirming my nationality and my identity, I have a really lovely photo too so they can see I'm the person on the licence.

They said they cannot accept it because its not an official form of ID.

They will take a birth certificate with no photo and with a completely different name from the one I have been using for 40+ years though to confirm my identity. confused

Surely my driving licence is acceptable? angry Ive got into a stupid argument over it where the young person dealing with my application will not even go and ask her supervisor if its ok to accept.

AIBU to think my driving licence is far more valid than my ancient birth certificate in a completely different name. hmm
Am I also being unreasonable to think common sense really should be applied in this instance?

harderandharder2breathe Wed 01-Feb-17 09:53:05

I expect its to confirm nationality rather than identity

user892 Wed 01-Feb-17 09:54:05

YANBU. You can buy a house with a valid photocard driving licence and recent utility bill hmm

Maybe it's more about dubious immigration concerns?

gamerchick Wed 01-Feb-17 09:54:33

It's probably to prove where you were born. Anyone can get a driving license.

user892 Wed 01-Feb-17 09:55:16

But yes - driving licence shows your place of birth anyway...

gamerchick Wed 01-Feb-17 09:55:19

And anybody can buy a house.

PurpleMcPants Wed 01-Feb-17 09:55:31