Talk

Advanced search

to think I answered this badly?

(11 Posts)
beemee Tue 31-Jan-17 00:30:57

I work in finance and today had a mini-interview/intro to a new team (for cx, im very junior).

The team were very friendly, jokey, maybe a bit laddish - all senior to me, significantly so, mainly men.

The partner/head of the team then proceeded to ask me how I felt about swearing - and then listed lots of words off ("the s word" "the c word" "the b word", spelling them out not naming them) to garner my opinion on them...

I was quite taken aback and sort of giggled nervously and said I felt fine/postivie (!) about swearing (I don't really have a problem with it but feel like I sounded like a stupid giggly people-pleaser!!) and said fine to all the words apart from cunt basically.

He then asked me to rate the meeting out of 10 at the end - again I replied in a giggly way saying 11! I hate myself! Feel like I sounded silly and girly.

I do want to work with these people and am not offended in the slightest but what would have been a better response?!

OneWithTheForce Tue 31-Jan-17 00:33:40

What a weird meeting!! What where they assessing you for?

Better response would have been a hmm face followed by "youre an adult, swear if you want, I'm not your mother."

beemee Tue 31-Jan-17 00:35:19

It was really their team meeting and I was shadowing/listening in...

I'm really embarrassed at how I responded though. Wasn't an assessment really at all.

OneWithTheForce Tue 31-Jan-17 00:38:15

So they were having their own meeting and I'm guessing that usually involves swearing? But because you were there they asked how you felt about it first? Was that because you are female?

beemee Tue 31-Jan-17 00:40:31

Yup I assume so - either that or because I'm new to the team!!

OneWithTheForce Tue 31-Jan-17 00:49:27