Talk

Advanced search

DCs school have asked people to come in for meetings twice a month every month

(48 Posts)
brokenheartdog Sun 29-Jan-17 21:05:03

In order to maximise the chance of good results and parent knowledge to support year 10/11s the dcs school have set fortnightly parents evening.

Would you go?
At first I thought it was being run fortnightly so that everyone had chance to get in at some point but no you are expected to go every fortnight to meetings/workshops etc.

While I really appreciate that they want the children to do their best aibu to think this is a bit unrealistic?

I myself am very unwell at the moment and under hospital treatment and many many appointments, others work or care for younger children or disabled children and such and and are going to feel like crap that they are letting their kids down.

NavyandWhite Sun 29-Jan-17 21:07:54

What kind of workshops are they?

Trifleorbust Sun 29-Jan-17 21:09:38

No, I wouldn't go. And I am a teacher. That is ridiculous unless your child is seriously behind.

MrsKCastle Sun 29-Jan-17 21:13:13

It would depend on the type of meeting. If they want a 5 minute progress chat to discuss next steps to work on, I would consider it. As both teacher and parent I think that regular contact can be really useful.

If the school wanted me to attend an hour long workshop every fortnight at a time that wasn't convenient, I would politely decline.

youarenotkiddingme Sun 29-Jan-17 21:19:07

Are they compulsory, expected or it's there if you want/need it meetings?

Ime schools often express things as we expect and then when you see what's actually being provided it doesn't all relate to your child and isn't what it seemed it would be.

I'm also surprised teachers are so on board with this. Unless it English, then math, then history etc so in theory you do twice a year.