Talk

Advanced search

To ask what contraception you use??

(56 Posts)
Belle89 Sun 29-Jan-17 20:56:33

I like the simplicity of the idea of the pill but having tries microgynon 30 have had nothing but problems with it. It made me continuously nauseous, headaches and irregular cramping.
Have previously had the implant with similar issues and the merina coil which moved and caused awful pain.
It seems I struggle with most, is there an alternative pill brand I should ask for?
Average weight, good blood pressure no family history or heart issues etc.

UrethaFranklin Sun 29-Jan-17 21:00:31

There are loads of different pill types, ask your GP if you can try a different one. Im on cerazette which suits me but it might not be for everyone.

smu06set Sun 29-Jan-17 21:03:19

Mirena for the last 2/3 years and love it - sounds like you had bad luck with yours. I love having minimal periods smile

katiegg Sun 29-Jan-17 21:03:56

I've been using microgynon 30 for about eight years and don't have any problems with it, but a lot of my friends have had issues with it. There are other types of pill available, I think microgynon is generally the one GP's start with before trying others.

Anothermoomin Sun 29-Jan-17 21:04:15

Vasectomy - bloody brilliantgrin

Sorry to be unhelpful.

Belle89 Sun 29-Jan-17 21:06:54

Anothermoon one day! Though may have objections to that one haha
Used to take microgynon before my child without problems but now it seems my body won't accept it

FinallyDebtFree Sun 29-Jan-17 21:07:51

Copper coil here, has been fabulous as I can't have hormonal contraceptives.

SparklyLeprechaun Sun 29-Jan-17 21:08:07

Cerazette and I love it.

Catsarefluffy Sun 29-Jan-17 21:09:34

None

Anothermoomin Sun 29-Jan-17 21:11:34

Belle89 don't give up hope. My DP ran down to the GP and begged when I explained condoms were the other option. Until then other posters will be more use than me.

Belle89 Sun 29-Jan-17 21:11:58