Talk

Advanced search

To not pay off my student loan (current SAHM) even though we can afford it?

(341 Posts)
SwissSarah Fri 27-Jan-17 18:54:12

I got my degree 10 years ago and have about £10K to pay from my student loan. I never earned enough to pay back any of it pre kids (did low paid community work) and have been a SAHM for 5 years and plan to be for at least the next 5. I anticipate never working full time and probably doing lots of voluntary stuff in the community as that's what I love doing. (DH earns well so no pressure to earn myself)

My DH thinks we should pay it back as I borrowed it. I think that I am contributing massively to my local community and giving back in so many other ways and if I'm not earning enough then I shouldn't worry about not paying it back. What do you think??

gabsdot Fri 27-Jan-17 18:55:05

I think you should pay your debts.

TowerRavenSeven Fri 27-Jan-17 18:56:29

Yabu. Of course you should pay it back!

Downstairspoo Fri 27-Jan-17 18:57:03

Presumably it would be paid back from your DH's income? Pay it back from your income alone so don't if you're not working. Those are the terms on which it was lent and remember the loans were inroduced to replace free uni education! Used to be interest free though until you started earning over a threshold, is it still?

simplysarcastic Fri 27-Jan-17 18:57:21

Um.. I think you should pay it back

Mummyoflittledragon Fri 27-Jan-17 18:57:22

I paid mine back as soon as I started working. I didn't need to because I didn't earn enough. I saw it as my responsibility to pay the money forward. Your husband is correct. I am actually quite shocked by your attitude.

SprogletsMum Fri 27-Jan-17 18:57:39

I think that if by the rules of the loan you don't have to pay it back, then you don't have to pay it back!

ThroughThickAndThin01 Fri 27-Jan-17 18:57:48

Pay it back. It's a debt you owe.

Musicaltheatremum Fri 27-Jan-17 18:58:20