Talk

Advanced search

To not bother with these 'friends anymore'? Found nasty whatsapp group about me

(110 Posts)
user1485442361 Thu 26-Jan-17 16:42:19

I've moved to an area far away from my friends and family. I am looking for work nearer my family but in my field it's far and few between |(social worker and my parents live in a rural affulent area).

My Son's Grandmother has always been nice to my face. We've never met up socially but I do visit her house and she invites me to family events. Same with his Aunty.

Today they added me to a Facebook group on messenger. They're not very I.T literate so obviously didn't realise that deleting the group chat history wouldn't delete it from my phone once they added me.

As such I got to see 15 months worth of bitchy comments about me. From 'She's not that pretty' to taking pictures of my outfits and sending it to each other critiquing it.

When I got my Masters they messaged each other criticising me. They're both support workers who wanted to become Social Workers so it's obvious they were jealous of my achievement. In fact, their conversations scream jealousy and almost obsessive hatred. They've spent a considerable amount of time criticising me on the group.

I've heard the most ridiculous criticisms all of which are opinions based on the stupidest of evidence and some downright nasty comments. Along with the idea that I'm using my ex when I want to and taking advantage of him (because asked for child maintenance and applied for it once he refused). And how my Son would be better with his Dad and hates living with me (nonsense). I'm not even sure they truly believe these things. They just want to believe them.

So armed with this awful evidence, would I be unreasonable to not go to any more events I'm invited to and not chat to them except to discuss my Son? A part of me always suspected they didn't like me after I left my Ex but they were nice to my face so I thought I was being silly.