Talk

Advanced search

To not want to change jobs now

(10 Posts)
jellymum1704 Sat 21-Jan-17 15:10:10

Just need some advice and experience of people who've managed this situation please. I've been working for about 5 years with a non profit organisation. My job pays decently and I get quite a bit of flexibility having worked long enough and having demonstrated my skills and dedication. The flexibility is quite important as I work full time with a 20 month DC who goes to a nursery full time. Neither me or DH have family here so one of us takes time off to deal with emergencies. My boss has been always understanding and accommodating with working from home or taking time off to care for DC while off sick and I make sure work doesn't suffer. I know I can probably earn much better if I were to work for a different company but can't guarantee family friendly policies. We do plan to have TTC no2 soon. Now DH has been insisting I look for a better paying job so we can afford to live in a nicer area and afford other things for DC and also he feels I have potential for a better role. I do feel bored at work sometimes but feel grateful for having the flexibility for DC. We've had a few arguments as I feel I don't want to change careers with young DCs as I may not get an option to reduce hours with a new employer. He doesn't understand how hard it can be to get a decent employer. I want to put it off until DC are older but he feels it'll be too late. I'm ambitious but want to spend as much time as possible with DC. I feel guilty about working full time as is but worried won't get the same flexibility ina higher paying new job. AIBU to not want to look for a new job?

ivykaty44 Sat 21-Jan-17 15:13:57

How flexible is his employer to having emergency time of and accommodating him having a small dc?

I would tell dh that you will happily move jobs and lose the flexibility but he will need to step up and fill that gap.

What would his answer to that be?