Talk

Advanced search

To think it is too late to stop smoking

(61 Posts)
Nomoreworkathome Sun 01-Jan-17 16:09:14

Just that really....am 50. Smoking since I was 13. I guess the damage is done. Is it too late?

DesignedForLife Sun 01-Jan-17 16:10:31

No, it's not too late. You can still improve your health and cut risks by stopping now.

Nomoreworkathome Sun 01-Jan-17 16:11:32

I HATE the hold it has over me. I wake up every day terrified then think there is no point as Ive been smoking for so many years

Soubriquet Sun 01-Jan-17 16:11:41

It's never too late

The only people who say that, are those who don't want to quit and are using it as an excuse

SortAllTheThings Sun 01-Jan-17 16:11:47

Not at all, you can still benefit hugely from giving up now.

GeillisTheWitch Sun 01-Jan-17 16:13:15

You will have done damage already but surely it's better not to add any more to that. You don't sound that motivated to quit though so if you're looking for reasons not to quit then any attempt is probably going to be unsuccessful. You have to want to stop.

gamerchick Sun 01-Jan-17 16:13:19

It's never too late.

You have to want to quit.

Planetarymagic1 Sun 01-Jan-17 16:13:32

My brother smoked 40 a day for decades and gave up wigh hypnotherapy. Just stopped. He looks years younger and says he feels tons richer. It was £125 and he was done in ine session.

Branleuse Sun 01-Jan-17 16:14:42

ITS EVEN MORE IMPORTANTyou give up when you get older I think

Maladicta Sun 01-Jan-17 16:15:05

My dm quit at 58 after smoking since 12. You can do it! I won't pretend it's not hard but the benefits are tremendous.
Good luck!!!!

AgedRelative Sun 01-Jan-17 16:16:36

My father stopped after 50 years. Not until he had throat cancer and had to have life changing treatment. Please please stop.

SortAllTheThings Sun 01-Jan-17 16:16:41

Ash is a great website with loads of helpful facts sheets etc

ash.org.uk/stopping-smoking/stopping-smoking-the-benefits-and-aids-to-quitting/