Talk

Advanced search

To ask if there's any midwives on here that fancy giving me "a day in the life of" story?

(14 Posts)
ricecrispies16 Tue 27-Dec-16 09:41:23

I have always always always wanted to be a midwife, never really did anything about it - started work straight out of school. Did social sciences which lead me nowhere because it's not what I want.

I'm seriously thinking now about going forward with becoming a midwife. I just need to be sure it's right for me before investing more time into it.

What are the shift patterns like?
How does it fit around your children?
Does the pay reflect the work load?

AlbertHerbertHawkins Tue 27-Dec-16 10:00:52

Hi OP,
I'm not a midwife, I'm a critical care nurse.
Regarding your questions.
Shift patterns chap. I didn't see my kids at all on Christmas day_ 13 hour shift.
How does it fit around my children? With difficulty.
Does the pay reflect the workload/level of training/level of responsibility - absolutely not.
However, I'll tell you what, if it's interesting, challenging, satisfying (sometimes), oh, and on Christmas day I saved someone's life smile
Life is short, I if you've always wanted to do it go ahead, don't have regrets. Although it's hard it's the best thing I ever did, and I met my husband through it grin

thatsnotmyusername Tue 27-Dec-16 10:26:35