Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To consider working for ATOS?

(30 Posts)
milkysmum Mon 19-Dec-16 17:04:57

I am a mental health nurse and have been qualified 14 years. I work in a particularly challenging area supporting clients with emotionally unstable personality disorders in the community. I have periods of poor mental health myself and right now I am exhausted with my job. I feel I am too emotionally fragile myself to continue with the level of stress this job brings. A couple of people have suggested looking into working for ATOS as a disability/ PIP assessor and I am wondering if I would be being unreasonable to consider this? What are people's thoughts?

AndNowItsSeven Mon 19-Dec-16 17:07:54

It depends. Do you vote Tory and think disabled people are malingerers and scrounges? If yes go for it.
Otherwise no , it would be soul destroying.

kateclarke Mon 19-Dec-16 17:08:59

I'm a nurse and wouldn't . On the guardian online a few weeks ago there was an article from one of their HCPs. Seems to be very harsh and target driven. I think you may end up even more stressed and morally conflicted.

ihatethecold Mon 19-Dec-16 17:09:22

What seven days!

milkysmum Mon 19-Dec-16 17:10:00

No I absolutely do not vote Tory. Am I deluded to think I could provide a fair assessment to people, that surely if they have decent clinicians doing the assessments then that is a good thing?

AndNowItsSeven Mon 19-Dec-16 17:14:39

Sadly I think you are deluded , my pip assessor, who was incidentally a mental health nurse was really nice.
I was awarded pip based on my physical needs. However the assessment did not accurately portray my functional needs because it's impossible to do that in what is essentially a tick box assessment.
There was a good program on a few months ago panorama/dispatches from a pip whistle blower. They resigned because they were not able to carry out fair assessments.

kateclarke Mon 19-Dec-16 17:15:50